Author Topic: Coming out at work  (Read 720 times)

Offline LBQwomenchat

• LGBT Foundation LBQ Women's Programme
  • Gingerbeer Virgin
  • Gingerbeer.co.uk - The Lesbian Guide
Coming out at work
« on: Aug 17, 2017, 07:15:17 PM »
Heya,

Do you come out as lesbian/bi at work, or keep your sexuality to yourself? And why? If you did come out, how did your employer and your colleagues respond?

Thanks!

Charlotte, from the Women's Programme

Offline Blythe

• Isle of Man Debating Champion 1981
  • Gingerbeer Lifer
    • http://www.gaydargirls.co.uk/scripts/ndisplay.asp?userid=rebecca-is-out
Re: Coming out at work
« Reply #1 on: Aug 17, 2017, 07:54:22 PM »
Yes I have. I'm a primary school teacher and all my colleagues chat about their partners and I'm damn well not going to NOT chat about mine. Sometimes new colleagues or visiting supply teachers look a bit shocked that I'm so open.
I also tell pupils and parents if and when it comes up. I talk to my 7 year old pupils about being to marry whoever they want and often they are surprised, I just matter of factly tell them that they don't know who they will fall in love with yet, and ask them if it would be fair for me to not be allowed to marry the person I love if I want, and they always say it wouldn't.
'Someone take Blythe's mobile phone off her before she says something silly'           kitty

Offline Lust for Life

• Gingerbeer Goddess
  • deep down, I think I am an optimist ...
« Reply #2 on: Aug 18, 2017, 12:51:28 AM »
My newest boss has known me as one of the (lesbian) mothers of our youngest since he started school at one of her previous jobs, 7 or 8 years before hiring me.