Author Topic: SUMMER RETREAT IN SOUTHWEST CORNWALL  (Read 498 times)

Offline alixxio

  • Gingerbeer Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Gingerbeer.co.uk - The Lesbian Guide
SUMMER RETREAT IN SOUTHWEST CORNWALL
« on: Apr 04, 2017, 07:53:05 PM »
SUMMER RETREAT IN SOUTHWEST CORNWALL

Are you a woman writer or artist looking for a peaceful but stimulating environment in which to advance your work this summer?
Or are you a woman looking for time away from London this summer for rest and reflection in a beautiful, inspiring setting?

From the beginning of July to mid October 2017, two rooms are available in a lovely, spacious detached house surrounded by gardens and open fields, set just back from the rugged cliffs of the far South West of Cornwall. The house is in a rural location where the coast road goes in one direction towards St Ives and, in the other, to the small town of St Just in Penwith. There are pathways to explore inland across moorland to ancient standing stones and towards the sea where the south west coast path connects high cliffs with sandy coves.

Getting around:
You could bring a car if you wished but it’s not essential as the house is also accessible by hourly buses, seven days a week from Penzance, where trains run to and from London. There are also local shops within walking distance. 
 
There’s a choice of two rooms:
A large south and west facing room with sea views and a large desk for your work.

A smaller room with a bay window which fills with light from the east, south and west - also with a large desk for your work.
You would also be welcome to use the gardens of the house for rest, relaxation or some outdoor work on your project.

You would be responsible for buying and cooking your own food in a kitchen shared with two other women (aged 55+) who permanently live in the house. The house is vegetarian and you’d need to fit in with that. There are also two cats, who would not come to your room but you need to know that they will be around in the kitchen areas.   

Prices are kept reasonable to make this opportunity affordable to as many women who might benefit as possible: £380 (inclusive electricity and gas for cooking) per month for the larger room and £360 per month (inclusive electricity and gas for cooking) for the smaller room. Both rooms are for single occupancy for a minimum of one month duration. A small reduction of the monthly rate is available for a woman who wishes to stay for 3-4 months to complete a longer project. 

Next Steps:
If you would like to apply, please send your name, e-mail and a short (one paragraph) description of what you are hoping to gain from your stay in the house. For those for whom the house seems suitable, we’d meet in London so I can show you pictures of the house and the rooms and you can ask me any questions you have before we decide whether to go ahead. Please apply as soon as possible and by May 30th 2017 latest.

Contact: alixx@fotomorgana.co.uk