Author Topic: How do you know if...  (Read 1542 times)

Offline Jaxx37

• Gingerbeer Diva
  • Gingerbeer.co.uk - The Lesbian Guide
How do you know if...
« on: Dec 12, 2015, 12:41:12 PM »
How do you know if you 'fit' into a particular lesbian identity/category (for lack of a better description) - e.g. Butch, Femme etc. I'm relatively new to the scene and so have met people who use these terms etc. and I've been asked in the past how I would describe myself in those terms (mind you that was online so maybe it's different). The thing is I don't think I especially fit into any of the 'options' as such, I've always considered myself to be a tomboy (which isn't exactly an exclusively lesbian identity) and of course now I'm happily out as a lesbian. I've been described as a 'true gentlewoman' in the past too (which I was really pleased about) but is there more to it than that?

I know this is a really stupid question and I apologise if it comes across badly, it's in no way meant to offend. I'm just curious and a little confused by it all. There's a whole side to being a lesbian that I hadn't actually considered before now, I always saw it as - I'm attracted to women, want to be with and eventually marry a woman and I care very much about equality, but somehow it seems much more complex. Or am I just making it that way? Again, sorry for asking such a ridiculous question.
People who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do.

The one thing that does not abide by majority rule is a person's conscience.

Offline Jaxx37

• Gingerbeer Diva
Re: How do you know if...
« Reply #1 on: Dec 12, 2015, 12:56:43 PM »
Sorry, turns out I posted this thread but didn't read the thread above about ID. I did try to delete but it says I can't. How do I go about getting the thread deleted?
People who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do.

Offline nismat

• Gingerbeer Devotee
« Reply #2 on: Dec 12, 2015, 04:06:44 PM »