Author Topic: Ancestry Veneration/Worship  (Read 1027 times)

drama umbrella

Ancestry Veneration/Worship
« on: Nov 05, 2011, 06:52:17 PM »
I'd like to say that although I am an atheist, I wasn't always one. I grew up in an atheist house but when I reached about 13, I started reading into paganism quite a bit. I didn't quite buy into it then, but I read so much at the university my dad worked at about different rituals, cultures, mythologies, fables (spook stories about historical figures), rituals and the like.

when I was around 18, I started learning about herbology, wicca, environmentaly-linked belief systems etc. I joined a coven when I went to uni at 26 and then when I thanked them for their support but left the group, I then studied Lukumi with some people I knew on the west coast... this followed me to London when I moved here. Although I really enjoyed it and respected the house that I was being mentored by to possibly be initiated into, I just could not give it the level of commitment that a Lukumi community demands.

I had a further shift of belief after this. The only thing I still hung onto was a very strong pull towards the responsibility of remembrance of ancestors... to keep them alive, it is important to keep their stories going. My mom sat me down and told me the history of her family: all the way back to my great great gramdmothers/grandfathers. She said it was important that this information was kept going and respected. She's an atheist, but she felt it was somehow part of  family care. After my studies in anthropology, I'd call this a subtle form of ancestor worship - not that I think my anscestors can help me, mind you, but I do feel responsible for "keeping them alive".